## **REPORT ON:**

## THE 4<sup>TH</sup> NALSAR NFCGCORPORATE LAW MOOT COURT COMPETITION, 2015

The 4<sup>th</sup> edition of the NALSAR NFCG Corporate Law Moot Court Competition was held at NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad in association with the National Foundation for Corporate Governance, from August 14 to August 16, 2015.

The moot court problem was based on Corporate Law focusing on areas of Takeover Regulations and M&A with a special focus on the recent Jet-Etihad and other such deals. It was drafted by Varun Agarwal, NALSAR alumnus and an associate at S&R Associates. This edition saw 21 teams expressing their interest to participate in the Moot, out of which we invited the best 8 Teams based on their memorial marks. This was done to ensure better competition. The event saw participation by students from law schools all over the country, including participants coming in from NUJS, Kolkata, GNLU, Gandhinagar, NLU, Odisha, GLC Mumbai, among others.

In this edition, we had invited the best of practicing corporate lawyers and associates at Firms to judge the Moot. Each level of the Moot was judged by different associates, senior and principal associates with the Finals being judged by Partners of Firms. The Finals were judges by Mr.SandipBhagat, Partner at S&R Associates, Mrs.EktaBahl, Partner at Tatva Legal and Mr.VaibhavKakkar, Partner at Luthra and Luthra Law Offices.

The first day of the event, which was 14<sup>th</sup> of August, 2015, started with the registration process, followed by the inaugural session, orientation and then the draw of lots. The preliminary rounds of the competition took place on the second day of the event, i.e. 15<sup>th</sup> of August, 2015. There were in total 4 rounds on this day. Seasoned mooters and practising lawyers, from and outside Hyderabad, came down to judge the competition. The Semi-Finals and Finals of the competition took place on the 16<sup>th</sup> of August, 2015. The rounds were followed by the valedictory session where prizes were distributed to the participants.

## ROSTER OF JUDGES

Oral Round Judges:

Round	Judge
Preliminary and Quarter Finals	Neharika Malik
	Nagesh C
	Namrata Adlakha
	Abhinaya Prithivi
	Mirza Saaib Beg
	Shreya Bose
	Sourav Roy
	Swati Singh
	Varun Agarwal
	Rishabh Shah
	Abhinav Bhalaik
	Moin Ladha
Semi Finals	Shiva Charan Reddy
	Pratyush Kumaar
	Anup Koushik
	Sathya Kumar
Finals	Sandip Bhagat
	Vaibhav Kakkar
	Ekta Bahl

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS			
Institute	Team Member 1	Team Member 2	Team Member 3
IIT, Kharagpur	Sudhanshu Shekhar	Anupam Kumar Singh	Shashwat Parihar
NLU,Odisha	Akhil Nene	Abhishek Toppo	Soham Roy
School of law, Sastra University	R. Sowmiya Narayan	G. Ganesh Aravind	R. Vigneshwar
WBNUJS, Kolkata	Divya Agarwal	Namrata Sadhnani	Shardha Rajam
GNLU, Gandhinagar	Shruti Trikanad	Abhay Upadhyay	Mahika Pavithran
ILNU, Ahmedabad	Ekagra Jain	Chirag Jain	Vinayak Kapur
CLC, Faculty of Law, DU	B. Vivekananda	Nishtha Agarwal	Abhinav Goswami

**Registered Teams:** 

IIT, Kharagpur NLU, Odisha School of law, Sastra University WBNUJS, Kolkata GNLU, Gandhinagar ILNU, Ahmedabad CLC, Faculty of Law, DUUPES, Dehradun Marathwada Mitra Mandal Shankarrao Chavan Law College, Pune (MMSCLC) Institute of Law, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra LC-1, Law Faculty, DU SLCU, Bangalore NLU, Jodhpur NUALS, Kochi Amity Law School, Centre II, NLSIU, Bangalore NLIU, Bhopal HNLU, Raipur

## LIST OF AWARDS

Winner – Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law, Delhi University Runner up – National Law University, Odisha Best Oralist – Ekagra Jain, Institute of Law, Nirma University Best Memorial - Institute of Law, Nirma University

The winners were awarded trophies and prizes. The prizes included Winning Team Award, Runner up Team Award, Best Oralist and one for the Best Memorial.